in remembrance

most days are filled with something
but today I am struggling.
you never know what will affect you, how it will affect you until it affects you.

experience a loss of life,
a very long well-lived life;
and then remember that life on the first day of spring.

thoughts are like dandelions
seeding one memory and then another
stirring a pot that has finally settled

people grieve in so many different ways
judgment solitude quiet reflection sadness regret
the living honor the dead through stories

today I wish I had the strength for the stories:
it’s who I am, what I do, it’s my language.
it’s taken me such a long time to get here, to this day

I don’t want to, cannot be derailed
I tend to the grief in my own way,
sending strength and love outward.

(c) March 2017

About Modern Vintage Ink.

Ghostwriter. Copywriter. Business Curator. Founder, Modern Vintage Ink. Reinvention through experimentation. Serendipitous NYer. Alum of @AOL_Inc @GQ @NBC_Universal @Marist View all posts by Modern Vintage Ink.

Leave a Reply

